

Oppose H.R. 7343

May 14, 2024

Dear Representative:

On behalf of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights, a coalition of more than 240 national civil and human rights advocacy organizations, I urge you to oppose H.R. 7343, the "Detain and Deport Illegal Aliens Who Assault Cops Act." Giving the bill an emotionally loaded title does not change the fact that the bill's provisions would eviscerate due process.

H.R. 7343 would subject immigrants to mandatory detention if they have been arrested for, charged with, or convicted of assaulting a police officer. Our immigration laws already impose mandatory detention of immigrants convicted of a wide range of offenses, including most violent crimes. H.R. 7343, however, would require the mandatory, indefinite jailing of an immigrant who has merely been *arrested for or charged with* assault. Furthermore, because the bill relies on various state law definitions of what constitutes assault, in some states, the bill would require the jailing of individuals accused of offenses that did not even involve physical contact.

Mandatory detention on the basis of a mere arrest is unprecedented. It would make it far more difficult, if not impossible, for defendants to defend themselves against charges (if charges are even pursued). And it would invite abuses that almost certainly would disproportionately impact people of color.

For these reasons, I urge you to vote against H.R. 7343. The Leadership Conference intends to include your position on H.R. 7343 in our voting record for the 118th Congress. If you have any questions, please contact Senior Counsel Rob Randhava at randhava@civilrights.org.

Sincerely,

Jesselyn McCurdy

Executive Vice President of Government Affairs

Officers

Secretary

Chair
Judith L. Lichtman
National Partnership for
Women & Families
Vice Chairs
Margaret Huang

Southern Poverty Law Center Derrick Johnson NAACP Thomas A. Saenz Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund

National Women's Law Center Treasurer Lee A. Saunders American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

Board of Directors

Fatima Goss Graves

Abed Ayoub American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee Gloria L. Blackwell AAUW Alma Couverthie

League of Women Voters of the United States

International Union, UAW Jocelyn Frye National Partnership for Women & Families Jonathan Greenblatt

Anti-Defamation League Mary Kay Henry Service Employees International Union Damon Hewitt

Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law David H. Inoue

Japanese American Citizens League Marc Morial National Urban League Janet Murquía

UnidosUS Svante Myrick People For the American Way

Janai Nelson

NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. Christian F. Nunes

National Organization for Women Rabbi Jonah Pesner Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism Rebecca Pringle

National Education Association
Lisa Rice

National Fair Housing Alliance Kelley Robinson Human Rights Campaign

Anthony Romero American Civil Liberties Union Liz Shuler AFL-CIO

Fawn Sharp National Congress of American Indians Maria Town American Association of

People with Disabilities
Randi Weingarten
American Federation of Teachers
John C. Yang

Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC

President and CEO Maya Wiley