La Opinión Translating Immigration into a National Priority

Media 04.12.06

First advocated on the pages of publications like La Opinión, support for credible immigration reform today blankets mainstream media coverage across the nation in the wake of thousands of pro-immigration rallies.

Spanish-language publications have been crucial in bringing what has been an underground issue into the daylight of a national discussion.

The Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR) is honoring this role and the outstanding accomplishments of Mónica Lozano, publisher of La Opinión and chair of the National Council of La Raza, at the 2006 Hubert H. Humphrey Civil Rights Award Dinner. Also receiving the award will be the film “Crash,” which won this year’s Academy Award for Best Picture.

“La Opinión has been instrumental in moving the immigration debate from one debated in foreign languages to one that is discussed at every kitchen table in America,” said Wade Henderson, executive director of LCCR. “La Opinión is more than just a source for news – it has become the voice of a community.”

“We are awarding the 2006 Hubert H. Humphrey Civil Rights Award to Mónica Lozano for her work in effectively engaging the rapidly growing Spanish-speaking population in the continuing struggle for civil rights in America,” added Henderson.

“As publisher of La Opinión and as chair of the National Council of La Raza, Mónica Lozano has not only been a powerful advocate for civil and human rights, but in helping to make the American Dream a reality for millions in Spanish-speaking communities across the nation,” Henderson said.

The importance of ethnic media cannot be overstated. A study conducted by the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund, New America Media and the Center for American Progress found that nearly one in four Americans gets news from ethnic media, making Lozano’s work all that more critical..

Lozano and “Crash” will receive their awards at LCCR’s annual dinner in Washington, D.C. on May 4, 2006, the largest annual gathering of the civil rights community. In addition to elected officials, business leaders,and a broad cross-section of the civil rights community, LCCR expects a number of stars from the film to attend.

Awardees are selected based on their distinguished contributions to the advancement of civil and human rights. Previous recipients include Senator Edward Kennedy; Representative John Lewis; former Connecticut Governor and Senator Lowell Weicker; United Farm Workers Union co-founder Dolores Huerta; civil rights leader Julian Bond; founder and President of the Children’s Defense Fund Marian Wright Edelman; disability rights advocate Justin Dart; and actor-activist Danny Glover, among others.