Spotlight on Humphrey Honoree: Barbara Arnwine

Media 04.10,13

On May 2, the civil and human rights community will honor Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law President and Executive Director Barbara Arnwine with its highest honor, the Hubert H. Humphrey Civil and Human Rights Award, for her lifelong dedication to the advancement of civil and human rights for all.

Arwine has led the Lawyers’ Committee since 1989, helping to build the venerable civil rights organization – which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year – into one of the most respected and critical institutions for social justice in the United States. She was instrumental in the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1991, which re-established broad scope of employment discrimination protections under the original 1964 Act, and the 2006 reauthorization of the Voting Rights Act.

Arnwine is also one of the leaders of the Election Protection (EP) coalition, the largest nonpartisan voter protection coalition in the United States. The Lawyers’ Committee co-founded the coalition in 2004 to ensure that historically disenfranchised persons have the opportunity to exercise their fundamental right to vote. The Lawyers’ Committee administers EP’s hotline, 1-866-OUR-VOTE, which received more than 170,000 calls from voters seeking information and assistance during the 2012 election cycle.

In 2001, Arnwine represented African descendants from the Americas in helping to draft provisions of the program for action of the U.N. World Conference Against Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and related Intolerance in Durban, South Africa.

In addition, Arwine sits on the Executive Committee of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights and is a former board member of The Leadership Conference Education Fund. She is also a member of the ABA’s Section of Individual Rights and Responsibilities and a board member of the National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty and Equal Justice Works.

Visit our Hubert H. Humphrey Civil and Human Rights Award Dinner page for more information on tickets, sponsorship, and the honorees.