Senators Must Oppose Judicial Nominees Who Decline to Affirm Brown v. Board of Education

Contact: Rafael Medina, [email protected], 202.869.0390

WASHINGTON – In advance of this week’s 65th anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education decision, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights urged senators to oppose all judicial nominees who decline to state unequivocally that the Supreme Court correctly decided the landmark case.

“[T]he refusal by some nominees to say that [Brown v. Board] was correctly decided sends a dangerous signal to all Americans – especially African Americans – that Brown could someday be overturned and that our nation could return to the disgraceful days of racial segregation,” Vanita Gupta, president and CEO of The Leadership Conference, writes in the letter. “Affirming Brown is an essential principle of racial equality that must be endorsed by all who seek a lifetime appointment on our federal courts. Regrettably, it is not, and that should be disqualifying.”

Below are currently pending Trump judicial nominees who have declined to affirm that Brown v. Board of Education was correctly decided:

  1. Miller Baker (U.S. Court of International Trade)
  2. Thomas Barber (Middle District of Florida)
  3. Wendy Berger (Middle District of Florida)
  4. Ada Brown (Northern District of Texas)
  5. Jeffrey Brown (Southern District of Texas)
  6. Brian Buescher (District of Nebraska)
  7. James Cain (Western District of Louisiana)
  8. Daniel Collins (U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit)
  9. Clifton Corker (Eastern District of Tennessee)
  10. Steven Grimberg (Northern District of Georgia)
  11. Greg Guidry (Eastern District of Louisiana)
  12. James Hendrix (Northern District of Texas)
  13. Richard Hertling (U.S. Court of Federal Claims)
  14. Karin Immergut (District of Oregon)
  15. Sean Jordan (Eastern District of Texas)
  16. Kenneth Lee (U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit)
  17. Damon Leichty (Northern District of Indiana)
  18. Michael Liburdi (District of Arizona)
  19. David Novak (Eastern District of Virginia)
  20. Mark Pittman (Northern District of Texas)
  21. Nicholas Ranjan (Western District of Pennsylvania)
  22. Timothy Reif (U.S. Court of International Trade)
  23. Matthew Solomson (U.S. Court of Federal Claims)
  24. Brantley Starr (Northern District of Texas)
  25. Michael Truncale (Eastern District of Texas)
  26. Wendy Vitter (Eastern District of Louisiana)
  27. Peter Welte (District of North Dakota)

Read The Leadership Conference’s letter here.

The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights is a coalition charged by its diverse membership of more than 200 national organizations to promote and protect the rights of all persons in the United States. The Leadership Conference works toward an America as good as its ideals. For more information on The Leadership Conference and its member organizations, visit